View navigation

About Us

Orthopaedics Research

Our Orthopaedic Research forms part of the Musculoskeletal Portfolio of research that takes place within the Trust alongside our closely related Rheumatology Research.  The key area our research focuses on is problems with the musculoskeletal structure and function resulting in surgical intervention.  Over recent years our interest has been with hip and knee surgical intervention however, we are continually trying to expand our orthopaedic research by looking for projects that cover not only lower limb but upper limb intervention also.

Our research can take place across our different hospital sites and involves those procedures that are elective and non-elective as a result of disease or injury.  Our portfolio consits of largely UK based non-commercial research and can involve collaborative working with our Physiotherapy and Radiology colleagues.

Please click here to be taken to the UK Clinical Trials Gateway where you can search for research studies that are currently being undertaken in our Speciality at our Trust.

Our Research Team

Our Orthopaedic Surgeons play a key role in delivering our research studies due to the specialist nature of the procedures that are required by the research protocols.  All are trained to an appropriat standard to meet the needs of both the patient and the study requirements and the studies are set up by the Research Delivery Facilitator  from our Research and Development Unit.

We have a dedicated Clinical Research Network (CRN) Generic Research Team based at our Scarborough General Hospital who manages our Orthopaedic research studies along with our CRN Generic Research Team at our York Hospital.  Both teams are trained to national standards of Good Clinical Practice (GCP).  Click here to be taken to the York Generic Resarch Team webpage and click here to be taken to the Scarborough Generic Research Team webpage.

Meet our Team Members

Name, Job Title Email Telephone Number
Andy Gibson, Senior Research Nurse, York Hospital andy.gibson@york.nhs.uk 01904 72 1957
Simon Dyer, Senior Research Nurse, Scaborough Hospital simon.dyer@york.nhs.uk 01723 34 2384
Sally Gordon, Research Nurse, York Hospital sally.gordon@york.nhs.uk 01904 72 1957
Rebecca Tait, Research Nurse, York Hospital rebecca.tait@york.nhs.uk 01904 72 1957
Emma Temlett, Research Nurse, Scarborough Hospital emma.temlett@york.nhs.uk 01723 34 2384
Kerry Elliott, Research Nurse, Scarborough Hospital kerry.elliott@york.nhs.uk 01723 34 2384
Rosie Furness, Clinical Trials Assistant, Scarborough rosie.furness@york.nhs.uk 01723 34 2384
John Whitwell, Clinical Trials Assistant, York Hospital john.whitwell@york.nhs.uk 01904 72 1957
Lisa Carr, Research Delivery Facilitator research.governance@york.nhs.uk 01904 72 5122

Our Researchers

Name, Job Title
Mr Mark Andrews, Orthopaedic Surgeon and Deputy Medical Director
Mr Jonathan Livesay, Orthopaedic Surgeon
Mr Sunil Auplish, Orthopaedic Surgeon, Clinical Lead for Trauma and Orthopaedics, Supervisor for Core Trainee Doctors

Useful websites

NIHR MSK Speciality Research; supporting Musculoskeletal Research Studies through providing infrastructure training and career development.

British Orthopaedic Association, the Surgical Speciality Association for Trauma and Orthopaedics in the UK.

1st April 2016 to 31st March 2017

York and Scarborough

147 research studies open to recruitment

=

4588 patients recruited into clinical trials